A Swarm of the Sun Press material

Press release

A Swarm of the Sun released their fourth album on January 11, 2019. The album is titled "The Woods", and is the follow-up to the critically acclaimed 2015-release "The Rifts". "The Woods" expands its predecessor’s signature sound of chilling, emotional and sometimes unsettling post-rock into even deeper levels of haunting and unnerving soundscapes.

"The Woods" consists of three 13-minute pieces. With patient restraint and ritualistic undertones, A Swarm of the Sun create a deliberate whole. The result is an album that urges the listener to stay to the end. A Swarm of the Sun has never shied away from the bleakest parts of the human experience. "The Woods" brings you comfort in knowing you’re not alone. It wants to be a companion in the dark.

The album travels between stillness and chaos. It is seamlessly brought together by mix and master by long-time collaborator Karl Daniel Lidén (Crippled Black Phoenix, Bloodbath, Breach). “The Woods” is released as a luxury gatefold LP, a six-panel digipak CD with an eight-page booklet and most digital platforms.

A Swarm of the Sun is the Swedish duo Jakob Berglund and Erik Nilsson. Recorded by Erik Nilsson at Garaget Studio, Version Studio and Kristine kyrka. Drums recorded by Karl Daniel Lidén at Studio Gröndahl. Design and artwork by Jakob Berglund. Distributed worldwide by Sound Pollution. Released on Erik's label Version Studio Records.

Jakob Berglund - Vocals
Erik Nilsson - Guitars and piano
Anders Carlström - Bass
Karl Daniel Lidén - Drums
Minna Heimo - Pipe organ
Samuel Lundström - Viola
2019 - The Woods
2015 - Deliver Us From Our Dreams (Single)
2015 - The Rifts
2010 - Zenith
2007 - The King of Everything (EP)

Band photos

All photos by Anders Carlström and Jakob Berglund, 2018

  • Band photo of A Swarm of the Sun
  • Band photo of A Swarm of the Sun
  • Band photo of A Swarm of the Sun

Promo videos